Loan foreclosure guide
A lender can charge a foreclosure fee only when the loan type and the written terms allow it. Check the interest type, the KFS and the foreclosure statement before you pay.
Identify the exit
Step 1
Cooling-off, part-prepayment or full foreclosure are different processes
Check the rule
Step 2
Compare floating vs fixed rate, sanction date and the KFS
Close in writing
Step 3
Pay the official quote, then collect zero-balance and closure proof
You received a bonus, sold something, or simply want the EMI to stop. You ask the lender, “How much do I need to pay to close this personal loan today?”
The reply may be a large figure: outstanding principal, interest till date, a 2% to 6% foreclosure charge, and GST on top. That quote is not automatically correct.
For many floating-rate personal loans, RBI does not allow a prepayment or foreclosure charge. For many fixed-rate digital personal loans, a charge may still apply if it was clearly disclosed in the Key Facts Statement (KFS) and loan agreement. The only safe way to know which case is yours is to read those documents and compare them with a written foreclosure statement.
Think of early closure like returning a rented room before the lease ends. You may owe rent for the days you stayed. You do not automatically owe a “leaving penalty” unless the written contract and the law allow it. A personal loan works the same way: you repay what is still due, not every extra fee someone mentions on a call.
This guide explains foreclosure, prepayment, part-payment, GST, RBI’s 2026 rules, how to request closure, and what to do if a lender charges a fee that was never disclosed.
Personal loan foreclosure charges: Quick answer
| Question | Short answer |
|---|---|
| What is foreclosure? | Full early closure of the loan before the original tenure ends. Lenders may also call it prepayment, preclosure or early closure. |
| Is it the same as cancellation? | No. Cancellation or cooling-off is an early exit soon after a digital loan is taken. Foreclosure is early repayment after that window. |
| Can every lender charge a fee? | No. For floating-rate loans to individuals for non-business use, RBI generally does not allow prepayment charges. |
| What about fixed-rate personal loans? | A disclosed fee may still apply. Many digital personal loans are fixed-rate, so do not assume the charge is ₹0. |
| Is there a compulsory lock-in? | Not for floating-rate individual non-business loans covered by RBI’s 2025 Directions. A fixed-rate contract may still contain a lock-in if it was disclosed. |
| Is GST charged? | GST is commonly added to a foreclosure fee when a fee is actually levied. It is not charged on the principal you repay. Confirm the invoice. |
| What should I check first? | Interest type, sanction date, cooling-off status, KFS foreclosure line and a written payoff quote. |
First decide: cooling-off, part-prepayment or foreclosure?
People search “cancel loan,” “close loan early” and “foreclosure charges” as if they are one problem. They are not. Using the wrong process can cost extra interest or leave the account open.
| Your situation | What it usually is | What to do |
|---|---|---|
| Digital loan credited a day or a few days ago | Cooling-off / look-up exit, if still open | Follow the cooling-off process, not a later foreclosure quote. Read how to cancel a personal loan after disbursement. |
| You want to pay extra this month but keep the loan | Part-prepayment | Ask whether the extra amount will reduce principal, EMI or tenure, and whether a part-payment fee applies. |
| You want the loan fully closed now | Foreclosure / full prepayment | Request a foreclosure statement and compare every charge with the KFS and RBI rules. |
| Approved but money not received | Not foreclosure | Stop disbursement first. See loan approved but money not credited. |
RBI’s Digital Lending Directions give digital-loan borrowers an explicit cooling-off exit: repay the principal and the proportionate Annual Percentage Rate (APR) without a penalty. The lender’s board sets the period, subject to a minimum of one day. A reasonable one-time processing fee may be retained only if it was disclosed in the KFS. After that window, early closure is treated as prepayment. Read RBI’s Digital Lending Directions, 2025.
What is personal loan foreclosure?
Foreclosure means you repay the remaining loan before the scheduled last EMI and ask the lender to close the account.
The same idea appears under several names:
- Foreclosure or foreclose: full early closure
- Prepayment or full prepayment: paying the outstanding amount early
- Preclosure or early closure: the same process in everyday language
- Part-prepayment or part-payment: paying extra without closing the loan
The amount due on a given day is usually:
Payoff amount = Outstanding principal + interest till the payoff date + overdue amounts, if any + disclosed foreclosure/prepayment charge, if legally chargeable + GST on that charge, if levied − surplus already paid, if any
Ask the lender to itemise each line. A single “closure amount” without a break-up is not enough.
RBI’s 2026 prepayment rule, in plain language
RBI issued the Pre-payment Charges on Loans Directions, 2025 on 2 July 2025. They apply to loans and advances sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026. They cover commercial banks (except payments banks), co-operative banks, NBFCs and All India Financial Institutions.
For a typical personal loan, the most important line is this:
On a floating-rate loan given to an individual for a purpose other than business, the lender shall not levy pre-payment charges. This applies with or without a co-borrower, whether you prepay in part or in full, and without any minimum lock-in period. The source of the money—salary, savings or another loan—does not change the rule.
If the loan is a dual or special rate (part fixed, part floating), the test is the rate applicable on the date you prepay. If it is floating that day, the no-charge rule can apply. If it is fixed that day, the lender’s disclosed policy may apply.
RBI also says:
- Where a charge is still allowed, a term-loan charge must be based on the amount being prepaid, not on some other invented base.
- The lender cannot levy a charge when it itself requires the prepayment.
- Whether a charge applies must be stated in the sanction letter, loan agreement and, where a KFS is required, the KFS.
- A charge that was not disclosed as required cannot be collected.
- A fee that was waived earlier cannot be added back at the time of prepayment.
What if my loan was sanctioned before 1 January 2026?
The 2025 Directions apply to loans sanctioned or renewed from 1 January 2026. Older floating-rate personal loans were already covered by earlier RBI instructions that barred foreclosure or prepayment charges on floating-rate term loans to individuals for non-business use.
For NBFCs, RBI’s later responsible-conduct directions repeat that point: on existing loans sanctioned or renewed on or before 31 December 2025, an NBFC shall not levy pre-payment charges on a floating-rate term loan given to an individual for a non-business purpose. See the NBFC Responsible Business Conduct Directions.
So the useful test is not “is my loan old or new?” The useful test is: is it floating or fixed, and was any fee disclosed in writing?
Does the no-charge rule apply to my personal loan?
| What your documents say | Can a foreclosure/prepayment charge usually be levied? |
|---|---|
| Floating-rate personal loan to an individual, non-business purpose | Generally no, for both older loans and loans from 1 January 2026 |
| Fixed-rate personal loan, charge shown in the KFS/agreement | Possibly yes, as per the disclosed policy |
| Fixed-rate personal loan, no charge mentioned in the KFS | For KFS-covered retail term loans, an undisclosed charge cannot be added later without your explicit consent |
| Digital loan still inside cooling-off | Exit should be without a penalty; a disclosed one-time processing fee may be retained |
| Business-purpose loan or overdraft/cash-credit | Different RBI limits apply. Do not use this personal-loan table. |
Important for app-based personal loans: many small digital personal loans are fixed-rate, not floating-rate. Articles that say “RBI banned all personal-loan foreclosure charges” skip this. If your KFS says “fixed” and lists a foreclosure percentage, that line still matters. If it says “floating” and the loan is for personal use, a lock-in or percentage fee is the thing to challenge in writing.
What to check in the KFS before you accept or close
RBI requires a Key Facts Statement for retail and MSME term loans sanctioned on or after 1 October 2024. The KFS must be given before you sign, explained to you, and acknowledged. Charges that are not in the KFS cannot be collected later without your explicit consent. Foreclosure charges, if applicable, sit in the contingent-charges section. Read RBI’s KFS circular. For how to read the whole document, see how to read a personal loan Key Facts Statement.
Before you accept a new loan, or before you pay a closure quote, mark these lines:
- Interest type: fixed, floating or dual/special
- Loan purpose: personal / non-business versus business
- Cooling-off or look-up period, for a digital loan
- Foreclosure / prepayment charges, or a clear “nil”
- Part-prepayment charges, if any
- Lock-in period, if any
- Penal charges for delayed payment
- APR and total amount payable
- Name of the actual bank or NBFC, not only the app
A processing fee is a different charge. It is usually taken when the loan is set up and can reduce the amount credited. That is covered separately in personal loan processing fee, GST and refund rules.
How foreclosure charges and GST are calculated
There is no single percentage for every personal loan. Where a charge is allowed, lenders often express it as a percentage of the outstanding principal, sometimes after a disclosed lock-in. Older marketing pages still quote 2% to 6%. Treat those as illustrations, not as RBI’s rate.
If a charge is levied, GST is commonly added at the prevailing rate on that fee. At the time of writing, lenders often apply 18%. GST is not charged merely because you repay principal. Confirm the tax line on the foreclosure statement or invoice, because tax treatment can depend on the exact nature of the charge.
Example A: Floating-rate personal loan — fee should usually be ₹0
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Outstanding principal | ₹80,000 |
| Interest till payoff date, as per lender statement | ₹420 (example) |
| Lender’s verbal “4% foreclosure fee” | ₹3,200 — challenge this if the loan is floating and personal |
| GST at 18% on that fee | ₹576 — this also falls away if the fee is not chargeable |
| Amount you should verify in writing | Principal + interest due, not an extra 4% |
This example is illustrative. The interest-till-date figure comes only from the lender’s statement for that date.
Example B: Fixed-rate personal loan — disclosed 3% fee
| Item | Amount |
|---|---|
| Outstanding principal | ₹80,000 |
| Disclosed foreclosure charge at 3% | ₹2,400 |
| GST at 18% on ₹2,400 | ₹432 |
| Interest till payoff date, as per statement | ₹420 (example) |
| Illustrative extra cost of closing early | ₹2,832 in charges and tax, plus interest due |
Compare that extra cost with the interest you would still pay if you continued the EMIs. Early closure saves future interest. It is worthwhile only when the saving is larger than the legally chargeable fee and tax.
Part-prepayment versus full foreclosure
Part-prepayment means you pay extra now and the loan continues. Full foreclosure means the account should show zero after the payoff date.
| Point | Part-prepayment | Full foreclosure |
|---|---|---|
| Loan status after payment | Remains active | Should be closed |
| What usually changes | Outstanding principal; EMI or tenure may fall | No further EMI should be due |
| Charge, if any | Based on the amount prepaid, where a charge is allowed | Based on the amount prepaid, where a charge is allowed |
| Mandate / auto-debit | Usually stays active | Cancel only after written closure |
Ask the lender, in writing, whether the extra payment will reduce the EMI, shorten the tenure, or both. Do not assume an extra UPI transfer will be treated as principal reduction. If two debits then appear in the same month, use the steps in EMI deducted twice: refund and complaint process.
How to close a personal loan early: step by step
Step 1: Confirm you are past cooling-off
If the digital loan is still inside the look-up period, use the cooling-off exit. Foreclosure language should not replace that cheaper, penalty-free option.
Step 2: Collect your documents
Keep the KFS, sanction letter, loan agreement, latest loan statement, repayment schedule and any fee waiver in writing.
Step 3: Note the interest type and sanction date
Write down whether the rate is fixed or floating, the sanction or renewal date, and the foreclosure line in the KFS. Those three facts decide most disputes.
Step 4: Request a foreclosure statement
Use the official app, email, website or branch. Ask for an itemised quote valid on a named date:
- Outstanding principal
- Interest till that date
- Overdue EMI, bounce fee or penal charges, if any
- Foreclosure or prepayment charge, if claimed
- GST on that charge, if claimed
- Net amount payable and the official payment account
Step 5: Reconcile the quote
If the loan is a floating-rate personal loan and a percentage fee appears, ask the lender to remove it and cite the RBI Directions. If the loan is fixed-rate, compare the fee with the exact KFS wording. If the fee is missing from the KFS, ask for reversal of that line.
Step 6: Pay only through the official channel
Pay the regulated bank or NBFC named in your documents. Do not pay an agent’s UPI ID, QR code, wallet or “closure officer” on WhatsApp. Keep the UTR or receipt.
Step 7: Collect closure proof, then stop the mandate
Ask for a zero-balance statement, loan-closure letter or No Objection Certificate (NOC), and confirmation that the NACH/e-mandate will be cancelled. Do not cancel the mandate first. An early cancellation can cause a bounce if the account is still live.
Step 8: Check the credit report later
A closed loan should later appear as closed, not as active or overdue. Bureau updates take time. If the account stays open after a reasonable reporting cycle, write to the lender with the closure letter attached.
Does closing a loan early affect CIBIL?
Paying off a loan in full and on the lender’s books is not the same as missing an EMI. A clean closure should not create a late-payment remark.
What can still appear:
- The account history, including the months you paid on time
- The date the account was closed
- A credit enquiry from when you first applied, if one was recorded
A delay, bounce or overdue amount left unpaid at closure can still be reported. If an extra EMI is taken after you have already paid the foreclosure amount, treat it as a duplicate debit and keep both references. Closing early does not, by itself, “damage” a score the way a default does. The report should simply show that the account ended.
What if the lender charges a fee that was not disclosed?
Step 1: Put the mismatch in writing
Send the KFS, sanction letter and foreclosure statement to the official grievance channel. Ask which clause supports the fee.
Step 2: Complain to the regulated lender
If you borrowed through an app, complain to the bank or NBFC named in the KFS, not only to the app or recovery agent.
Step 3: Use the grievance officer
The officer’s details should appear on the lender’s website, app, KFS or agreement.
Step 4: Approach RBI when eligible
If the regulated entity rejects the complaint, gives an unsatisfactory reply, or does not respond within 30 days, you may be able to lodge a complaint through RBI’s Complaint Management System, subject to the Ombudsman rules. You may also contact ZapCash support for a ZapCash application or account. Do not share an OTP, PIN or password.
Complaint template for an incorrect foreclosure charge
Subject: Request to revise foreclosure statement and remove undisclosed / non-permitted prepayment charge
Dear Grievance Officer,
I am writing regarding personal loan account/application number [number], sanctioned on [date].
I requested a foreclosure / full-prepayment quote for [date]. The statement includes a prepayment / foreclosure charge of ₹[amount] plus GST of ₹[amount].
Please reconsider this line because:
- The loan interest type in my KFS / agreement is [fixed / floating / dual].
- The loan is an individual personal loan for a non-business purpose.
- The KFS / agreement discloses a foreclosure charge of [nil / % / amount].
- If the loan is floating-rate, RBI’s prepayment directions do not permit a prepayment charge on this category.
- If the charge was not disclosed in the KFS, it cannot be collected later without my explicit consent.
Please issue a revised itemised foreclosure statement, confirm the official repayment account, and provide a complaint reference number. I have attached the KFS, sanction letter, loan agreement and the quote under dispute.
Regards, [Name] [Registered mobile number]
Avoid foreclosure and “loan closure” scams
Fraudsters use early-closure urgency the same way they use processing-fee urgency. Be cautious if someone asks you to:
- Pay a “foreclosure unlocking fee,” “NOC fee” or “RBI closure charge” to a personal UPI ID
- Share an OTP, UPI PIN, ATM PIN or net-banking password to “stop the EMI”
- Install a screen-sharing app so they can “close the loan from your phone”
- Transfer the full outstanding amount to an agent, recovery executive or unknown company
- Pay again after you have already paid the official quote
Under RBI’s digital-lending rules, fees payable to a lending service provider are to be paid by the regulated lender, not collected separately from you by the service provider. Verify the lender name in the KFS before you pay anything. Report suspected fraud through official channels, including the National Cyber Crime Reporting Portal.
Foreclosure checklist
- ☐ I confirmed whether cooling-off still applies.
- ☐ I checked whether the rate is fixed or floating.
- ☐ I noted the sanction or renewal date.
- ☐ I compared the quote with the KFS foreclosure line.
- ☐ I received an itemised statement for a named date.
- ☐ I paid only the regulated lender’s official account.
- ☐ I saved the payment reference.
- ☐ I received zero-balance / closure / NOC confirmation.
- ☐ I confirmed the auto-debit mandate will be stopped.
- ☐ I will check the credit-report status later.
Should you take another loan to close this one?
Sometimes a lower-rate loan is used to repay a higher-rate loan. That can make sense only after you compare:
- The legally chargeable foreclosure cost on the current loan
- The processing fee, GST and APR on the new loan
- Whether the new loan is fixed or floating
- Whether you can actually repay the new EMI
A second loan taken only to “clear” the first one can increase total cost if the new fees wipe out the interest saving. If you are considering a fresh personal loan, read the KFS first and use a repayment estimate such as the EMI calculator. ZapCash personal loans, where offered, are subject to eligibility and lender assessment; approval is not guaranteed.
Personal loan foreclosure FAQs
What is the foreclosure charge on a personal loan in India?
There is no single national percentage. For floating-rate personal loans to individuals, RBI generally does not allow a prepayment charge. For fixed-rate loans, the disclosed KFS and agreement control the amount.
Did RBI ban personal loan foreclosure charges from 1 January 2026?
RBI banned prepayment charges on floating-rate loans to individuals for non-business purposes, for loans sanctioned or renewed on or after 1 January 2026, with no minimum lock-in. Fixed-rate personal loans can still carry a disclosed charge. Older floating-rate personal loans were already covered by earlier no-charge instructions.
Is there a 6-month or 12-month lock-in on personal loans?
Not for floating-rate individual non-business loans covered by the 2025 Directions. A fixed-rate contract may still mention a lock-in if it was disclosed. Do not accept a lock-in that contradicts the written terms or the applicable RBI rule.
Can I close a personal loan after 1 EMI?
If cooling-off is still open, use that exit. If it has ended, you can usually request foreclosure. Whether a fee applies depends on interest type and disclosure, not on a universal “minimum EMI count.”
Is GST charged on personal loan foreclosure?
If a foreclosure fee is levied, GST is commonly added at the prevailing rate on that fee. Lenders often apply 18%. GST is not charged on the principal repayment itself. If the fee is ₹0, there is no GST on that fee.
What is the difference between prepayment and foreclosure?
In practice, lenders use both words for paying early. Foreclosure usually means closing the whole loan. Prepayment can mean a part-payment or a full payoff. Ask which one the quote is for.
Can I prepay a personal loan from another loan or from a relative?
For floating-rate individual non-business loans covered by RBI’s 2025 Directions, the source of funds does not matter. The lender should not create a different charge because the money came from another loan.
Can a lender charge a fee that is not in the KFS?
For loans covered by RBI’s KFS rules, fees or charges not mentioned in the KFS cannot be charged during the loan term without your explicit consent. Raise a written dispute if a new foreclosure line appears.
Will I get a refund of the processing fee if I foreclose?
Usually no. A processing fee is a set-up charge. Foreclosure stops future interest; it does not automatically reverse the original fee. Cooling-off has a separate rule, explained in the cancellation guide.
How long does foreclosure take?
There is no single RBI timeline for issuing every personal-loan foreclosure statement. Ask for a quote valid on a specific date, pay that day if possible, and keep asking for the closure letter until it arrives. Do not treat a verbal “it is closed” as enough.
Should I cancel auto-debit before paying the foreclosure amount?
No. Complete the payoff and obtain written confirmation that nothing remains due. Then confirm that the mandate has been cancelled. Cancelling too early can create a bounce.
What if I already paid a foreclosure fee that was not allowed?
Write to the lender with the statement, payment proof and KFS. Ask for a refund of the non-permitted charge and GST collected on it. Escalate to the grievance officer and, when eligible, to RBI’s Complaint Management System.
Does foreclosure remove the loan from CIBIL immediately?
No. Lenders report on a cycle. The account should later show as closed if the payoff was complete. Keep the closure letter so you can dispute a wrong “active” status.
Can I close only part of a ZapCash or other digital personal loan?
Part-prepayment depends on the product terms in your KFS. Ask the actual lender whether part-payment is allowed, how it will be adjusted, and whether any disclosed charge applies. Do not send an unofficial extra payment and assume the EMI will change.
Final takeaway
Closing a personal loan early can save future interest. It should not automatically cost an extra 2% to 6% “because every website says so.”
Use this order:
- If cooling-off is still open, exit there.
- If you want the account closed later, ask for a foreclosure statement.
- If the loan is floating-rate and personal, a prepayment charge is generally not allowed.
- If the loan is fixed-rate, pay only a charge that was disclosed in the KFS.
- Pay the official lender, collect closure proof, then stop the mandate.
The cheapest closure is the one that matches the written contract and the current RBI rule—not the first number quoted on a call.


